All-Star Games to include Irmo, Dutch Fork talent

By Thomas Grant Jr.

The high school football playoffs are over, but the All-Star season is in full gear.

This weekend will see a pair of games featuring some of the top players from Richland and Lexington counties.

Palmetto I-20 Classic

The third edition of the All-Star game takes place at 7:30 p.m. Friday at Camden High School.

There will be two teams split with players from Lexington County and Richland One (Team Nasty) and players from Richland Two, Kershaw, Sumter and Fairfield Counties.

The full list is available at and on Twitter at @Palmetto I-20 Classic.

Touchstone Energy Cooperatives All-Star Bowl

The 76th edition of the event is scheduled for this weekend at Doug Shaw Stadium in Myrtle Beach.

The activities kick off at 5 p.m. Friday with the Joanne Langfett Junior Showcase which invites some of the top players from the Classes of 2025-27 to take part in an on-field talent evaluation.

Players will be placed into six teams based on positions and skills who will compete against each other.  The competition will range from 7 on 7s, Tug of War, Bench, and many more. For each competition, teams will be competing for team points trying to win the Joanne Langfitt Team Award

There are two Midlands teams. The Gray team includes quarterback Landon Sharpe (White Knoll), running back Maurice Anderson (Dutch Fork), wide receivers Krew Morris (Gilbert) and K.J. Smith (Dutch Fork), offensive lineman Nathan Gilley (Chapin), defensive backs Elgin Sessions (Dutch Fork, Anthony Turnbow (Chapin), linebacker Matt McAuley and defensive lineman Artem Kalinkin (both of Lexington).

Playing for the White team are defensive backs Devin and Caleb Geronomi (both of White Knoll), linebacker Josh Wells (Dutch Fork) and placekicker Justin Welch (Dutch Fork).

The senior game will take place at noon on Saturday. Playing for the North team are wide receiver Zai Offord and linebacker J.T. Sowell (both of Gray Collegiate) and offensive lineman Dylan Barbery (Airport).

The South roster features running back Jaden Allen-Hendrix and defensive back Isaiah McClary (both of Irmo), quarterback Drake Braddock (Gilbert), linebacker Christian Sexton (Lexington), wide receiver Austin Cunningham and defensive lineman Dakota Jordan and Terrance Wells (both of Dutch Fork).

The “Mr. South Carolina” Football winner will be announced at halftime. This year’s finalists are running back Zion Dobson (Hampton County), quarterback Avery McFadden (Hillcrest), running back Turbo Richard (Northwestern) and offensive linemen Josiah Thompson (Dillon) and Watson Young (Daniel).