District Five students shine at SkillsUSA Leadership and Skills Conference

108 students from the Center for Advanced Technical Studies (The Center) competed across 39 statewide contests at the SkillsUSA State Leadership and Skills Conference held in Greenville, South Carolina on March 16–18. School District Five students, representing nearly every program at The Center, placed in 30 competitions, winning 17 contests. All first-place winners now advance to compete at the SkillsUSA National Skills and Leadership Conference being held in Atlanta, Georgia in June.

In addition to the competition success, The Center had three students named to South Carolina SkillsUSA state officer positions. Two of these students (Sylvia Dobbe and Chloe Raynor) are returning as state officers to serve another term while Avery Smith was newly selected for the upcoming 2023-2024 school year.

The Center’s chapter was recognized as a Gold Level Chapter of Distinction at the state level and named a SkillsUSA National Model of Excellence Chapter. This national award is bestowed upon the top 24 SkillsUSA chapters across the country. This year’s recognition marks the fourth year in a row The Center has earned this honor.

The following is a list of School District Five’s SkillsUSA State Competition winners.

Additive Manufacturing
3rd Place- Jaron Morris, Joah Schaefer

Advertising Design
2nd Place-Emily Dufault

Audio-Radio Production
1st Place- Julianna Stewart, Coda Walston
2nd Place- Patrick Carroll, Ryan Hill

CNC 2-Axis Turning Programmer
2nd Place – Jedediah Smith

CNC 3-Axis Milling Programmer
1st Place- Wyatt Holland

Community Service
1st Place-Alexia Bothers, Roberto Gonzalez

Computer Programming
1st Place – Lucas Pearson

Crime Scene Investigation
1st Place -Taylor Hopkins, Austin Mattingly, Sean Wade

Criminal Justice
1st Place-Ashland Davin

Cyber Security
2nd Place -Dane Anderson, Alex Esparza
3rd Place- Brayden Blackmon, Errol Gordon

Digital Cinema Production
1st Place- Sofia Segura, Lance Varner
2nd Place- Tiameh Berry, Benjamin Carter

Electrical Construction Wiring
3rd Place- Peter Egan

Extemporaneous Speaking
1st Place- Arianna Shepherd

2nd Place- Quinn Anhar

Information Technology Services
1st Place- Naythan Kinsey
2nd Place- Carter Ouzts

1st Place- Peter Muller
2nd Place- Landon Byrd

Job Skill Demonstration Open
1st Place- Taylor Raymond
2nd Place – Benjamin Cannarella

Mobile Robotics Technology
1st Place- Zachary Jeffcoat, Hayden Robinson

Opening and Closing Ceremonies
1st Place-Sylvia Dobbe, Kinstyn Foster, Shea Moseley, Isabella Plyler, Chloe Raynor, Avery Smith, Emily Stone

Outstanding Chapter
1st Place- Lillian Bickel, James Bothe, Nathalie LeGrand

Pin Design
1st Place- Katelyn Simmons
2nd Place- Adriana Lagombra


Prepared Speech
3rd Place- Madison Phelps

Promotional Bulletin Board
2nd Place- Harshad Jackson, Kizah Jeffrey, Lauren Kleinholz

Related Technical Math
1st Place- Brynn Froeschner

T-Shirt Design
2nd Place- Porter Floyd
3rd Place-Adriana Rodriguez

2nd Place- Clinton Bohannon, Eva Carroll, Tanner Coggins, Sidney Powers

Technical Drafting
1st Place-Ryan Riddle

Television Video Production
1st Place- Lily Mohr, Reece Nolting
3rd Place- William Davis, Asher Thompson

Video News Production
2nd Place-Isabelle Anderson, Ian Bocinski, Jackson Dugar, Dahlila Redner
3rd Place- Ty Gardner, Anthony Madison, James Neilson, Jackson Perez

Welding Sculpture
2nd Place – Houston Lee