Governor Henry McMaster and the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) announced today that South Carolina will advance to Phase 1b of the state’s COVID-19 vaccination plan beginning Monday, March 8. Phase 1b includes educators, school support staff, student teachers and district substitutes. Lexington-Richland School District Five is partneringContinue Reading

Lexington-Richland School District Five is now accepting applications for its 2021-2022 4-year-old kindergarten programs. The district is also currently registering students for five-year-old kindergarten. School District Five 4K ApplicationPotential students must be 4 years old on or before Sept. 1, 2021. Parents of children meeting this age eligibility can applyContinue Reading

Chapin Middle School has adopted a new member to their Eagle family, a calf named Moon Pie. Chapin Middle School’s Digital Integration Specialist Lori Powers discovered the opportunity after scrolling through Facebook, and knew it would provide students the opportunity to learn and connect with one another. “I thought itContinue Reading

The Greater Irmo Chamber of Commerce has recognized River Springs Elementary’s Phyllis Griggs as their Teacher of the Month.  River Springs Principal Matt Gams said, “Mrs. Griggs is an outstanding kindergarten teacher, arriving early and leaving well after the students depart. She comes in with positive energy and enthusiasm for what she does.Continue Reading

The Lexington-Richland School District Five Board of Trustees unanimously approved the calendar for the 2021-2022 school year during its meeting on Monday, Feb. 8. The calendar has school beginning for students on Aug. 18, 2021 and ending on June 3, 2022. The district will have a Fall Break again duringContinue Reading

Lexington District One is looking for both part-time and full-time bus drivers. The district currently has 30 driver vacancies. The pay range is $14.05 to $21.30 an hour, and the district offers pay commensurate with professional experience. Average hours are 6–8:30 a.m. and 1:30–4:30 p.m. Lexington District One not onlyContinue Reading

School District Five is in need of additional substitute teachers for the 2020–2021 school year. The COVID-19 pandemic has opened the door to first-time substitute teachers who can support students while starting a new career path. These roles are optimal for parents, unemployed professionals and college students, or anyone whoContinue Reading

By Al Dozier Lexington-Richland District 5 is moving forward with its plan to return to face-to-face learning five days a week on Feb. 1 despite protest demonstrations that took place just before the Jan. 25 board meeting at Irmo High School. The district has been observing face-to-face learning four daysContinue Reading