Outstanding School District Five Students Shine in SC American Choral Directors Honor Choir

A group of exceptionally talented students from Lexington-Richland School District Five has been chosen to participate in the upcoming SC American Choral Directors Honor Choir. The event is scheduled to take place from Friday, January 19th, to Saturday, January 20th, 2024, at the Francis Marion University Performing Arts Center.

These students underwent a rigorous audition process on Friday, October 27th, 2023, showcasing their exceptional vocal abilities and musical prowess. The Honor Choir will feature two groups for high school students: the SSA (Soprano, Second Soprano, Alto) and the TTB (Tenor 1, Tenor 2, Bass 1) choirs, each contributing to the rich tapestry of three-part harmony.

The School District Five students who have earned the distinction of performing in the SC American Choral Directors Honor Choir include:

  • Ana Aun (Chapin High)
  • Baylie Batchelor (Irmo High)
  • Sydney Brunson (Irmo High)
  • Anasia Bryant (Irmo High)
  • Elijah Drum (Chapin High)
  • Sal Erwin (Irmo High)
  • Makynzie Foxworth (Chapin High)
  • Anna Grace Fulmer (Chapin High)
  • Mackenzie Gable (Chapin High)
  • Jacob Grubbs (Chapin High)
  • Sophie Johnson-Distefano (Irmo High)
  • Liana Joseph (Irmo High)
  • Hunter Majka (Chapin High)
  • Ciara Moorer (Irmo High)
  • Miya Palmer (Chapin High)
  • Makenzy Rushton (Chapin High)
  • Meadow Sapienza-Chaney (Irmo High)
  • Sidney Shepard (Chapin High)
  • Ella Speight (Chapin High)
  • Elijah Strole (Irmo High)
  • Christiana Valdez (Irmo High)
  • Ellie Vess (Chapin High)
  • Mia Walsh (Chapin High)

The culmination of this musical celebration will be a public concert at the Francis Marion Performing Arts Center on Saturday, January 20. The concert is free and open to the public, providing an opportunity for the community to witness the extraordinary talent of these dedicated students.