Danielson wins

Councilman to become next mayor of Irmo

In the mayor’s race in Irmo on Tuesday, Councilman Bill Danielson emerged victorious, defeating the incumbent Mayor Barry Walker. The unofficial tally revealed Danielson securing 924 votes, surpassing Walker’s 841 votes. While early voting and absentee numbers were still pending, Danielson’s lead positioned him as the clear winner at the time of the report.

Expressing his gratitude, Danielson said, “I’m cautiously optimistic at this point and want to thank the voters in Irmo for putting their trust in me.” He acknowledged the support of many individuals who contributed their time and energy to his campaign, emphasizing his profound appreciation for their assistance in achieving this victory.

Danielson’s political journey included winning a special election to fill Barry Walker’s council seat in 2020, and subsequently, securing re-election in 2022. At the time of the mayoral race, Danielson was in his second year of a four-year term on the Irmo Town Council. In contrast, Walker had been a longstanding presence on the council since 2004.

Incumbent Councilman Erik Sickinger easily retained his seat with 959 votes, while first-time candidate Phyllis Coleman secured 734 votes, filling the council seat vacated by Kelly Busch, who chose not to seek another term. Gabriel Penfield garnered 707 votes, securing the third position, and Jeff Allen received 537 votes.

Notably, disqualified council candidate George Frazier received 72 votes despite being removed from the ballot. The Lexington County Election Commission deemed him unqualified to run due to a failure to meet a residency registration requirement. Frazier’s address change, a necessary update following his move, was not submitted within the mandated 30 days.

Accompanying the report was a photo featuring the newly elected mayor, Bill Danielson, alongside his wife Peg, with Chris Kaderly of the Irmo Police Department. The image captured a moment of celebration and perhaps anticipation for the responsibilities that lay ahead.