District Five pays tribute to principals, through National Principals Month

October was National Principals Month, and Lexington-Richland School District Five recognizes the essential role that principals play in making schools great.

Throughout the month, the district and schools recognized principals through social media campaigns and highlights. Each October, the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) and National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) recognize National Principals Month. Through nationwide efforts at local, state and federal levels, research initiatives and appreciation events, National Principals Month aims to honor school principals for their significant impact on the success and well-being of their students.

“Educational Researcher John Hattie’s quote “Know Thy Impact” is a theme for our district,
and our principals certainly have a tremendous positive impact on the success of our schools,” said Dr. Christina Melton, superintendent of School District Five. “National Principals Month is one of the ways we honor them and thank them. Their vision, commitment and dedication provide a path for student success and contribute to our pursuit of excellence.

School District Five Principals include: Robin Bright, Ballentine Elementary; Jesse Hutchinson, Chapin Elementary; Julius Scott, Dutch Fork Elementary; Jason Pollock, H. E. Corley Elementary; Randy Norman, Harbison West Elementary; Shannon Fincannon, Irmo Elementary; Kelly Reese, Lake Murray Elementary; Courtney Sims, Leaphart Elementary; Love Ligons, Nursery Road Elementary; Kristie Smith, Oak Pointe Elementary; Cassy Paschal, Piney Woods Elementary; Matt Gams, River Springs Elementary; Christian English, Seven Oaks Elementary; Ed Davis, Chapin Intermediate; Erin Doty, CrossRoads Intermediate;
Anna Miller, Chapin Middle; Vernon Sava, Dutch Fork Middle; Danielle Major-Murphy, Irmo Middle; Michael Ames, Chapin High; Dr. Gerald Gary, Dutch Fork High; Dr. Robin Hardy, Irmo High; Dr. Michael Lofton, Spring Hill High; Patrice Brand, Academy For Success; and Dr. Al Gates, Center for Advanced Technical Studies.