Koon honored for excellence

Lexington County Sheriff Bryan “Jay” Koon was honored by the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers’ Association (SCLEOA) and the Strom Thurmond Foundation at the annual Strom Thurmond Awards for Excellence in Law Enforcement Luncheon on May 11.

The event was held at the Lexington Town Hall. About 100 state, local, and federal law enforcement officials from across the state attended the awards luncheon.

The following officers from four categories—City, County, Federal, and State—were recipients of the 2022 awards:

Major Arthur D. Littlejohn
Spartanburg Police Department

Sheriff Bryan “Jay” Koon
Lexington County Sheriff’s Office

Special Agent Kevin E. Conroy
Federal Bureau of Investigation

Captain Connie Sonnefeld
S.C. Law Enforcement Division