A Lexington-Richland School District Five student won an award in the 2021 Magnet Schools of America Poster Contest.  Dorothy Hutchins, a fourth grader at Leaphart Elementary School STEM Magnet, received third place in the elementary school level in the nationwide competition. The contest highlights and promotes magnet schools across theContinue Reading

Senior Resources presented Richland County Government with the Emergency Response Partnership Award. Senior Resources is an organization dedicated to caring for Columbia’s senior population. The award is for the county’s leadership through its emergency response as part of the Emergency Senior Nutrition Program. The program provides meals to seniors, allowingContinue Reading

Laura Rittenberg, president of Coldwell Banker Realty in the Carolinas, has announced the No. 1 agent and teams companywide for 2020 sales performance in the region. Top AgentCharles Manley, affiliated with the Midtown office, was the No 1 agent companywide for both adjusted growth commission income (AGCI) and units soldContinue Reading

Nine year old Chantice Burton, a 3rd grader at Nursery Road Elemlentary School in Irmo competed in the National Indoor track and field championships held in Virginia Beach, Virginia March 12-14. She earned All-American in the 60m, 200m and long jump.Continue Reading

Irmo High School varsity basketball coach Tim Whipple has been named by his peers as the 2021 South Carolina Co-Region 4A Coach of the Year. Whipple will share the honor with A.C. Flora coach Josh Staley.   “It is always an honor to receive recognition from your peers. Even more soContinue Reading

Richland County’s Finance Department again has earned the highest honor in governmental accounting and financial reporting. For the 37th consecutive year, the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) awarded the Richland County Finance Department with the organization’s Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting. An impartial panel recognized the CountyContinue Reading

By W. Thomas Smith Jr. Richland County Sheriff’s Dept. (RCSD) Deputy Sarah Merriman was presented the highest departmental honor – DEPUTY OF THE YEAR 2020 – during RCSD’s annual awards ceremonies, Wed. Jan. 13, 2021: But not before receiving Deputy of the Year for RCSD’s Region Four and the department’sContinue Reading

Members of the Building Industry Association of Central South Carolina (BIA) voted for their choice of nominees for the Byron Crosthwaite Residential Builder Member of the Year Award and the Associate Member of the Year Award. Sponsored by Knight’s Ready Mix, The 2020 Residential Builder Member of the Year isContinue Reading