Lexington County Republican Party Endorses Candidates in Upcoming Primaries

The Lexington County Republican Party (LCRP) held its monthly meeting on May 6th, drawing an overflow crowd of twenty-three candidates gearing up for the June 11 Primary. Following stump speeches from the candidates, the LCRP Executive Committee made endorsements in selected races.

Chairman Mark Weber emphasized the party’s commitment to promoting its platform and electing candidates who align with its values. “Our endorsement committee meticulously reviewed questionnaires, conducted interviews, and engaged in discussions to ensure we endorse candidates who best represent our party’s principles,” stated Chairman Weber.

Endorsed candidates, who garnered overwhelming support, include:

  • State Rep. Joe White, House District 40
  • State Rep. Jay Kilmartin, House District 85
  • State Rep. RJ May, House District 88
  • State Rep. Ryan McCabe, House District 96
  • State Sen. Billy Garrett, Senate District 10
  • Zoe Warren, Senate District 23
  • Chris Smith, Senate District 26
  • Billy Warren, Sheriff
  • Councilman Scott Whetstone, County Council District 1
  • Councilman Darrell Hudson, County Council District 3
  • Doug Leonard, County Council District 4
  • Councilman Gene “Bimbo” Jones, County Council District 5
  • Councilwoman Charli Wessinger, County Council District 6

Chairman Weber expressed satisfaction with the process, noting it as the first full-scale endorsement of different races in Lexington County. “The LCRP is excited to leverage our ability to endorse candidates to positively impact our communities, state, and country,” Weber added.

For more information and candidate surveys, visit LexGOP.com or

Contact: Chairman Mark Weber
Email: [email protected]

The next monthly meeting is scheduled for Monday, June 3rd, at the Flight Deck Restaurant in Lexington.